The Mitchell County Chamber of Commerce held its Annual Awards Dinner on Thursday, November 3, 2016 at the Cross Street Center.  Nearly 130 members were in attendance to celebrate the nominees and winners of the Chamber’s Annual Awards.

“We were pleased with such a great turnout for the Annual Awards Dinner and also excited that so many members nominated Chamber businesses and organizations for the awards,” said Patti Jensen of the Mitchell County Chamber of Commerce. “Chamber members are invited to nominate area Chamber member businesses and organizations in eight categories and then vote on the nominees,” said Jensen.

The nominees and winners in each category were announced at the dinner. The winners in each category were: Amazing Customer Service, DT’s Blue Ridge Java; Outstanding Service to the Chamber, Kim Stephenson (SECU); Excellence in Community Support, Spruce Pine Chevrolet; Rookie of the Year, Mike the Fireman Window Cleaning; Non-Profit of the Year, Mitchell County Animal Rescue; Small Business of the Year, Appalachian Eye Associates; Large Business of the Year, Quartz Corporation; and Member of the Year, Becky’s Flowers & Gifts.  The President’s Award was presented by Chamber President Kim Stephenson to Camp Spring Creek.  The Director’s Award was presented to WTOE by Director Patti Jensen.

“We extend our congratulations to the winners and nominees of the 2016 Annual Awards. Our Chamber is fortunate to have such amazing businesses and organizations as members.  They each contribute so much to making our community a great place to live and work,” said Jensen.