Get to Know Us

The Mitchell County Chamber of Commerce is the area’s largest business organization and has served the Mitchell County area for more than 50 years. A lot has changed over the last fifty years and while we still value the honest and hardworking community we live in, we understand that businesses and organizations just don’t operate in the same world as they used to. In response we are developing new ways of defining the business community, connecting our member businesses through new networks and encouraging a spirit of renewal in our entrepreneurial community. While we are moving forward with innovative ways of helping our members grow and succeed, we still base our core business models and relationships with our members on old-fashioned mountain values.

Learn more about us here:




The Chamber At A Glance

The Chamber is an active membership organization that serves the needs of businesses, non-profits and government agencies of all sizes in the greater Mitchell County area. There is no other organization that connects you to all of the areas of the region like the Mitchell County Chamber.

Once you see what we do to support businesses here as well as how our work impacts the entire community, we believe you will understand why hundreds of your business neighbors invest in the Chamber.



Who We Are

The Chamber has been a part of the Mitchell County area for more than five decades. Businesses, non-profits, agencies and individuals who choose to be a part of the Chamber do so because we are a dedicated pro-active business leadership organization. We have proven through our many projects and initiatives that working with our community partners and business members results in an organization that benefits our members and our community. Contact us to learn how we support businesses and impact our entire community.



Our Mission

The Mitchell County Chamber is a member driven organization that serves its members by helping to create and sustain a healthy economic climate. Our mission is to support business and promote community.



Board of Directors


Beth Morris
Mayland Community College



JoAnn Buchanan
Roan Industries

Executive Committee

Joe Glenn

Beth Morris

JoAnn Buchanan


Elected and Appointed Directors


Dan Wilson
Asset Protection Associates

Paula Hoilman Holtsclaw
Mitchell County DSS

Laz Aguayo
Mike Brown Ford

Billy Summerlin
Town of Spruce Pine Police

Beth Morris
Mayland Community College

JoAnn Buchanan
Roan Industries

Joe Glenn
Springmaid Mountain

Richard Canipe
Town of Spruce Pine

Libby Phillips
Spruce Pine Main Street

Keith Holtsclaw
Mitchell County Commissioners

Chuck Shelton
Mountain Community Health Partnership

Ciji Dellinger
Toe River Health District

DeLee Scott
Williams YMCA 

Zack Mason
Eben Concepts & The Grove Church

Tara Garland
Blue Ridge Community Hospital/NC Rhododendron Festival




Executive Director
Patti Jensen
Joined the Chamber: 2001

Kelly Jones
Joined the Chamber: 2016

Shirley Hise

Joined the Chamber: 2002

Visitor Center Staff & Volunteers

Visitor Center Manager
Robin Townsend
Joined the Chamber: 2002

Cathy Silver
Joined the Chamber: 2017